These days tahini is found in a lot of recipes from sauces, dressings, and marinades to cookies and fudge. So you might be wondering, what exactly is it? And does tahini have dairy?
Let’s find out.
What is Tahini
Tahini is sesame seed butter. You can make tahini by roasting and grinding sesame seeds.
This is similar to how you can make almond or peanut butter from roasting the nuts and then griding them into a paste.
Tahini is found in Mediterranean and middle eastern cuisine, most famously as a key ingredient in hummus.
Does Tahini have Dairy or Gluten?
No. Dairy comes from the milk glands of mammals. You know dairy products like milk, cheese, kefir, and cream. Gluten is the proteins in certain grains including barley, rye,
Tahini is just ground sesame seeds and is
enefits of Tahini
Tahini is the blended butter or
Sesame seeds, and therefore tahini, also have lignans which are linked to lower cholesterol and preventing high blood pressure. Learn more here.
Tahini for specific diets and allergies
Tahini makes a great addition to vegan dishes as a faux cream sauce. It adds protein and creamy texture without any animal byproducts.
Those allergic to nuts or peanuts can use seed butter like tahini as a substitute in recipes calling for nut butter. Another popular seed butter is
How to use Tahini
Tahini can be used in most ways that you use nut butter, like on toast or in chocolate cups. Here are several uses for your jar of tahini.
- drizzled on top of a salad or buddha bowl
- on toast
- in chocolate cups
- tahini fudge
- simple tahini lime salad dressing
- plain with chocolate
- in smoothies for a nutty flavor
- whipped tahini dip
- as a marinade for roasted vegetables
Looking for other Dairy Free Recipes?
Almost all recipes on Eat your Way Clean are Dairy Free! See the Recipe Index for a full list of dairy-free recipes or just click here.